Claire Smith Center for Sports Media

The Vision

The Claire Smith Center for Sports Media at the Klein College of Media and Communication at Temple University will be a world-class academic center focused on teaching, training and research in the areas of sports journalism, advertising, public relations and production. 

The center will:

  • be named for distinguished Klein College alumna Claire Smith, KLN ‘79, the first woman to be honored with the Baseball Writers' Association of America Career Excellence Award in the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.  
  • follow Smith’s profound legacy and launch a new generation of sports media legends steeped in both practical knowledge and in the culture, theory and history of their field.

What sets the Claire Smith Center apart?

This will be the first center of its kind to be named for a pioneer who set the standard for women in sports media. The center will reach across both journalism and business, as well as focus on multiculturalism and breaking down barriers associated with race and gender in the sports media industry. This cross-disciplinary, multiplatform program with a strong digital focus is built around Smith’s values: ethics, excellence and integrity.

Klein College is at the nexus of sports media education in Philadelphia. With the only Sports Media Certificate of its kind for undergraduates, the Claire Smith Center will only add to the incredible sports media opportunities we are able to provide for our driven students.

She has come full circle back to Temple University and deserves to be honored with the naming of the Center.

Dusty Baker

manager, Houston Astros

Our Dedication to Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Following Smith’s legacy as our guiding force, Klein College strives to research and incorporate elements of diversity, equity and inclusion into the sports media industry. 

Klein College is the 2018 winner of the Equity and Diversity Award from AEJMC. Following the reception of this award, Klein College developed a Diversity Advisory Council as well as the position of Diversity Advisor to the Dean - the first such position created in Klein’s history - held by Professor David W. Brown, was created in 2018. Professor Brown’s position and work provides us with the structure necessary to include diversity, equity and inclusion within the infrastructure of what the college is and intends to be. 

Aligning ourselves with the legacy of Claire Smith, we believe these values are imperative to success.

Financing the Center

Klein College’s goal for long-term sustainability of this center is $2 million. Our goal is to raise $1 million by June 30, 2022, Temple University’s threshold for naming a center, to name the Center for Claire Smith. So far, $750,000 was raised as of January 1, 2022. For more information, please contact:

Karen Sensenig Gallagher 
Assistant Dean, Development & Alumni Relations
Klein College of Media and Communication 

Cell: 215-219-5871 

Steering Committee Members

To date, the following are members of the Claire Smith Center for Sports Media steering committee.

  • Dusty Baker, manager, Houston Astros

  • Alfie Boe, OBE, world-renowned opera singer

  • Aaron Boone, manager, New York Yankees

  • Nelson Braff, owner, Hunt and Fish Club, NYC

  • Howard BryantMeadowlark Media and
    executive producer of HBO’s Back on the Record with Bob Costa

  • Dave Buck, executive vice president, Philadelphia Phillies

  • Tony Clark, executive director, Major League Baseball Players Association

  • Len Coleman, former president, National League

  • David Cone, former New York Yankees/Mets

  • Ron Darling, former New York Mets

  • Ann Meyers Drysdale, color commentator, Phoenix Suns and Phoenix Mercury

  • Terry Francona, manager, Cleveland Baseball Club

  • Jean Fruth, founder, Grass Roots and award-winning photojournalist and author

  • Ken Griffey Sr., former Cincinnati Reds 

  • Jeff Idelson, former president, National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum, founder Grass Roots

  • Joe Girardi, manager, Philadelphia Phillies 

  • Rob King, senior vice president and editor-at-large, ESPN

  • Tim Kurkjian, color analyst, ESPN

  • Rob Manfred, commissioner, Major League Baseball

  • Joe Maddon, manager, Los Angeles Angels

  • Don Mattingly, manager, Miami Marlins

  • Sam Mondry-Cohen, assistant general manager, Baseball R&D, Washington Nationals

  • Jon Pessah, author

  • Harold Reynolds, television analyst, MLB Network and Fox Sports

  • Marly Rivera, color analyst, writer, ESPN and ESPN Deportes

  • Willie Randolph, former New York Yankees captain/all-star

  • Dave Roberts, manager, Los Angeles Dodgers

  • Ken Rosenthal, color analyst, Fox

  • David Ross, manager, Chicago Cubs

  • Lisa Nehus Saxon, former MLB reporter

  • Mike Schmidt, 1995 inductee, Baseball Hall of Fame

  • John Skipper, executive chairman, DAZN Group

  • Ozzie Smith, 2002 inductee, Baseball Hall of Fame

  • Stephen A. Smith, commentator, ESPN's First Take

  • Emma Span, managing editor, The Athletic

  • Colin Thompson, Carolina Panthers, NFL

  • Joe Torre, 2014 inductee, Baseball Hall of Fame

  • Bobby Valentine, former New York Mets manager, Dodgers

  • Suzyn Waldman, color analyst, New York Yankees

  • Bernie Williams, former New York Yankees

  • Billy Williams, 1987 inductee, Baseball Hall of Fame

The center will be managed by:

  • Claire Smithco-director, Claire Smith Center for Sports Media, Assistant Professor of Practice
  • John DiCarlo, co-director, Claire Smith Center for Sports Media, managing director of student media at Temple and adjunct faculty member
  • Marc Zumoff, associate director, Claire Smith Center for Sports Media, and adjunct faculty member